No PGA tours in my future

7 12 2009

Yikes, it’s been awhile! I managed to get through hell week #2 and after Thursday I’ll be done for the holidays 🙂 I’m so stoked (and burnt out) it’s hard to concentrate on doing my work. Anyway, I decided to take this weekend off since it’s been back-to-back deadlines for the last 2 weeks and, with only one last assignment to complete, I figured I should fit in some social time to de-stress. Also, it was a friend’s birthday last week and I felt bad that she postponed celebrating because a couple of people (including me) couldn’t make it. We’re such bad friends!

She wanted a low-key birthday with no alcohol-induced craziness, so she decided on Putting Edge for GLOW-IN-THE-DARK MINI GOLF!!

Freaky fluorescent heaven!

I’ve never been mini golfing before (or regular golfing either), so I was super excited.

Poised for victory!

Yup, so as you can see from my fantastic form (which appears to make me look like I’m 4 ft tall!) at hole 14 no less, it’s going to take a lot of practice on the mini golf course if I someday want to graduate to the real greens. But of course that means no more of this:

Raining fire balls...or lava...can't remember if that was a volcano...

In the end, despite the 7 tries it took to sink my first hole, I was in good company and I tied for first!

Proof of my mad skills :p

Notice all the corrections and math on my column. They were so in disbelief, they double and triple checked my score, LOL. It was funny because the only other groups there were some teenagers and families…but you can never be too old for glow-in-the-dark fun! Following the round of mini golf, we went to Demetre’s, a fantastic dessert place in Toronto (and there are a bunch of locations in the GTA).

It was packed and we had to wait awhile to get seated and served. When our food got there, we all dug in and completely forgot to take pics of the artistically plated chocolatey goodness. Luckily, someone remembered at some point and we were able to salvage one half eaten waffle.

Chocolate icecream, fudge brownies, fresh whipped cream over a beligan waffle

We ended the night by watching Star Trek, which was a fantastic movie! I ❤ Chris Pine and I’ve never really liked Zachary Quinto because of Sylar on Heroes and how disturbing he is, but surprisingly, he made a sexy Spock!

Scruffylicious

Why hello there, Commander Spock 😉

Thought I’d throw in a little eye candy to brighten this place up a bit. 🙂

Foodwise, it’s been a very bad week. I’m a stress eater and with looming deadlines, I feel guilty for spending time exercising, so those good intentions fell to the wayside. I think I was a little too ambitious starting the Run with Ruby workouts right at the tail end of classes/peak of assignments and exams. I’m going to restart it once I’m done school on Thursday so that I can make it a habit over the holidays and won’t let the workouts slide once school starts back up in January.

I’m tempted to wipe the slate clean, clear the page and start fresh, but I won’t. I have been battling discipline and consistency for as long as I can remember. I am disciplined and consistent in some aspects of my life, but in most others I’m definitely not and I find it very difficult to achieve. But I hold out hope that it’s possible to make it part of my nature. Some people can do it right away and I think it has to do with how much they want something or how motivated they are. I don’t know. I’m definitely no authority on the matter, all I can say is that I believe you really have to want it for yourself and get into a routine to become disciplined.

Take swimming. That is really the only exercise I do that has become completely routine for me. I rarely miss a swim and make sure I get a minimum of 2 swims in a week, though I usually do make it for 4.

It’s hard to believe, but in 2008, I probably went swimming once or twice a week that summer only, then completely stopped. In early 2009, there was one month I regularly went 2-3 times a week, then I stopped. Finally, in August, I started up again, making a habit of going 2-3 times a week.

The truth is, I was motivated to go to the pool for the remote chance of bumping into this cute guy who I’d noticed there a couple of times. He seemed to be a regular, and what better way to meet him than to chat him up while resting between laps?

After a month, I rediscovered my love for swimming (I’d taken lessons from the ages of 3-15, then went on to be a lifeguard/swimming instructor) and found it to be an activity where I could just free my mind. It was some much needed “me” time. And it didn’t even feel like exercise even though my muscles would be aching the next day.

5 months later, it’s still the only exercise I keep up consistently. And it gives me hope that any activity can become routine the same way. I won’t clear the Run with Ruby page of my failures inconsistencies, because they’re just proof that getting fit can be difficult, particularly when the rest of your life gets in the way. Hopefully (if I’m successful in making running a part of my life), it will show people that it’s possible to over come it.

Alright, that’s enough philosophizing. Onto some foodie pics from the week!

Baked bitter melon and butternut squash fries

More baked bitter melon and a grilled cheese sandwich with red onions

Sauted mushrooms & red onions with a little marble cheese in a hollowed out bun

Broccoli slaw with store bought Tuscany bean salad & roasted butternut squash, red peppers and onions

I’ve been buying the butternut squash mix and Tuscany bean salad every so often from Metro, but I think I might try making a version of the bean salad myself. Both are delish, I’m just concerned they might use a bit too much olive oil in their vinaigrettes.

Well, I hope this super long post makes up for my long absence. Will try to get into the swing of blogging (ha! unintentional golf pun). The countdown begins…4 more days till I’m D-O-N-E!! (for a little while at least) Wish me luck…

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

