Happy Holidays Blogland!

26 12 2009

Ai-yi-yi! Will I ever get the hang of blogging? I don’t know, but I hold out hope it’ll happen in time. I guess the truth of the matter is my life as of late has just been so boring. Plus I always seem to forget my camera! In any case, I’ve got some food pics to share, but I have a tendency to repeatedly eat the same meals (if you’ve noticed from previous posts), particularly if they’re easy to make and yummy, so this won’t be very interesting.

Green Monster and a red onion/mushroom/cheese sandwich

Mixed greens with chicken breast chunks

Tofu shirataki noodles - a fantastic pasta/noodle substitute! Package contains 2 portions

Shirataki noodles with homemade spinach pesto sauce (basil, spinach, garlic, olive oil), tomatoes, mushrooms and red onions

One portion of the pasta

Quick, easy, delicious, (nutritious?) butternut squash soup. Thank you, Mr. Campbell!

What it looks like after 3 mins in the microwave. (Beware: it got pretty messy. Thank goodness for microwave covers.)

As for the proposed “no refined carbs challenge,” managed to follow it for a few days before the holiday dinners out started. *sigh* what can I say, my self-control hasn’t fully developed yet. My downfall was sushi night. I tried to fill up on salad and miso soup. Ordered tuna and salmon sashimi, but then my friend offered me a dynamite roll (my fave) and I just couldn’t resist. We ended up sharing the order (4 rolls each), so it wasn’t too bad, but it got the ball rolling. 😦

Who was I really kidding? Being restrictive during the holiday season is just a recipe for disaster unless your self-control is fully developed. However, I’m still in the stages of building it up, so it’s probably not a good time for me to start. Oh well, I tried!

On a more positive note, I’ve been pretty consistent with exercise. Right now my goal is to get 30 min in 3-4 times a week, which I’ve managed to do. Didn’t end up trying the hot yoga yet because the studio’s class schedule didn’t mesh with mine and they have an introductory special where you get 1 week unlimited for $20. I want to make sure I can fully utilize that.

I’ve decided to sign up for a 5k race for April! I’m super excited because I think having a commitment like that will motivate me to really train. After all, I don’t want to come in last place. So far, the running hasn’t yet become routine. I did 30 mins twice last week and this past week, but I really think I’ll have to step it up to 3 times a week if I want to have a decent time (i.e. under 30 mins). Slowly but surely is my motto.

Changing the subject entirely, I spent the majority of my Christmas day at the movies. We did a double feature (yes, we were naughty and snuck into another movie) and saw Sherlock Holmes and Avatar. OMG, both movies were AMAZING!!!!

Avatar is a must-see movie. Even if you don’t like sci-fi/fantasy stuff, it’s just got such a powerful message and the CGI is gorgeous! Man, oh man. I wasn’t even planning on seeing it. Hadn’t seen any trailers or heard much beyond there being a lot of anticipation and hype around it and then some general good reviews. We saw it because it had just started after we finished watching Sherlock Holmes and it was in the next theater, easy to sneak into. I was very pleasantly surprised.  I’m notorious for spoiling plots, so I won’t even mention it. I’ll just pass on my enthusiastic approval and strong recommendation.

Sherlock Homes was also fantastic. I can’t remember if I’ve ever seen a Guy Ritchie movie, but I heard he’s had a couple of bombs. Of course, I wasn’t worried it would be bad because Robert Downy Jr. and Jude Law are in it and they can do no wrong in my opinion. However, not only was the acting spot on wonderful, I loved the way the film was put together. Light, entertaining and action-packed, go see it!

Next up: my first attempt putting together a belated holiday dinner consisting of a roasted cornish hen (my first time roasting a chicken, yikes!), stuffing (from a box, of course), instant mashed potatoes or roasted potatoes, steamed broccoli, salad.

I hope everyone has had a very Merry Christmas!

The only snow I've seen in awhile...

Actions

Information

One response

31 12 2009
Tamara Lea

I am about to try those shirataki noodles for the first time ever (late dinner)! I was shocked when I looked at the calorie count. I hope I like them because I will start eating them all the time at 40 cals per bag!!

Leave a Reply

