Exercisangles – 100 push ups challenge

29 03 2010

Supposedly it’s spring. Haven’t really felt it yet, but maybe this week. My workouts have slowed down a bit recently because there are about 11 more days of school left!!!!!

Ahhh! Of course, that means it’s a stressful time of year with all my major projects and papers due pretty much at the same time. Made worse by the fact that they are all group efforts. Luckily, the knowledge that I am soooo close to finally finishing my undergrad is buoying me through it. I’m still stressed as hell, but I’m getting by. (I’ve been doing some research on cortisol and weight gain. Look out for a post on that issue soon.)

Anyways, school stress = no gym visits. So I’ve been trying to supplement my swims and runs with strength workouts at home. In the last 2 weeks that has mean participating in some one week challenges. At this new blog I’ve been following (Half of Jess), Jess comes up with these weekly challenges for herself (and anyone else who wants to join in, like me). Two weeks ago it was a week of squats, 5 sets of 25. Last week it was planks, 3 sets of 1 min regular and side planks. Jess is doing them for 6 out of 7 days, but I only managed to do 5 out of 7 days.

What I loved about these challenges was that they were simple moves that didn’t take up too much of my time, but they were effective. I could only do 5 days because I was SORE. And I haven’t been treating my body right nutritionally or with sleep, so I didn’t want to push it. Last thing I need right now is to get sick!

Well, Jess is having another challenge and I’ll probably participate in it too, but I’ve been seeing talk of this 100 push ups training program (saw it on Shedding It and Your Nutritionista) and thought I’d give it a try. I would love to have toned arms and shoulders, not to mention bragging rights for being able to do 100 push ups! It requires a 3 times a week commitment of 5 sets of push ups (of varying numbers). There’s even a handy website that can be used for logging the workouts.

Let me know if you join the challenge, too. I’d love a buddy!

Because the blog’s been lacking in food pics lately, I’ll leave you with this colourful one of a recent lunch feast courtesy of the Whole Foods salad bar:

Delicioso!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

