Inspirangles – Start up Sundays #1

5 04 2010

I haven’t had an inspirangles post yet, and I thought, “What better day to get motivated than a Sunday?” what with it being the day before people usually get back onto the wagon. So I looked up some famous inspirational quotes and here are my top 3 picks for this week:


“Life takes on meaning when you become motivated, set goals and charge after them in an unstoppable manner.” – Les Brown

“Most of us serve our ideals by fits and starts. The person who makes a success of living is one who sees his goal steadily and aims for it unswervingly. That’s dedication.” – Cecil B. DeMille

“Obstacles are those frightful things you see when you take your eyes off your goal.” – Henry Ford

(Source)

As you can see, the theme of this post is GOALS! Since the month is still new, I wanted to come up with 3 goals for this month to work toward. My motivation and dedication has been lacking lately, so I want to keep it simple and achievable. I’m hoping small wins will help gear me up towards being more persistent.

April Goals:

1. Make a healthy pizza dough from scratch
2. Run 3 times a week (to stick to my 5k training plan)
3. Write 2 blog posts a week

Update on my 5K: I was sure I was going to be doing the Toronto Women’s Run in May (as I mentioned in a previous post), but it ended up filling up before I registered :(. My friends and I might try again for their August race, but in the meantime, I was so determined to do a 5k this spring, that I signed up for the 1st one I could find that supported a cause that meant something to me.

And lo and behold, I found the perfect event.

The Cardiac Health Foundation of Canada holds an annual 5k walkathon in Toronto called the Walk of Life. This year it’s taking place on May 15, 2010.

I was looking for a race in May because I figured it would give me plenty of time to train.The bonus is cardiac health is an important cause to me as I have a family history of heart disease, heart attacks and strokes on both sides of my family. My grandfather died of a stroke, my aunt died of a heart attack and my father had bypass surgery (a quadruple or sextuple or some other ridiculously high number) 3 years ago. So, it’s a fitting event for me to participate in. I’m very excited!

Will you be participating in any races this spring? And does anyone have any tips on making a delicious healthy pizza dough?

Actions

Information

One response

7 04 2010
Jess

My mom and I are going to make pizza dough sometime soon so I’ll keep you posted!

I think it’s GREAT that you’re starting with a goal post. And small, attainable, measurable goals. That’s the way to go 🙂

Thanks for always leaving wonderful comments on my blog, I really appreciate them!

Leave a Reply

