A week of ups and downs

16 04 2010

Hello Blogworld! It’s been a crazy week filled with fantastic news, sad news, and stressful deadlines. First of all, it was my last week of classes! All of my major projects and presentations are finally done! I just have an exam and a paper left, both due the same day. Even though I have one more course left to finally finish my undergrad, the atmosphere of spring classes is just not the same as during September-May, I feel like this is it, my undergrad is DONE!

One thing I’ve come to realize, I HATE APRIL! It seems April brings all the bad. There are exams, which suck of course, and then there’s all this tragic news I keep getting in April. Last year, my best guy friend died in a freak motorcycle accident. I still can’t wrap my head around it and am still in denial. Now this April has brought news of the deaths of a close family friend and a friend of a friend. Although I wasn’t very close to either of these people, after last year, I find any news of death affects me at a more intense emotional level than it ever has in the past. I’m not really sure how to deal with the emotions except by keeping myself busy, which isn’t difficult to do with exams coming up.

But I was feeling so down and numb all week, until I got a big envelope in the mail.

You see, back in December, I was trying to figure out my options for after I finished my undergrad. Should I just job hunt? Should I try to find an unpaid internship? Should I apply for a masters? And if so in what? Should I look into post-grad certificate programs at colleges? Should I apply for teacher’s college?

I’ve always thought about becoming a high school teacher. It’s always been in the back of my mind. But for the longest time, my parents didn’t approve. Being South Asian parents, they first wanted me to become a doctor. but I’m kinda a germaphobe, so no thanks! Then it was a pharmacist and I tried for it to please them when I was doing my B.Sc., but I really wasn’t interested and my grades weren’t good enough. That’s when I switched into business after my second year of university, and their expectations changed. They wanted me to become an accountant and eventually get my MBA. Well, accounting didn’t interest me enough to pursue it, but marketing did. I ended up majoring in marketing and thoroughly enjoying it. The only problem was the job security. With the way the economy is, finding a job is unpredictable.  I finally took a stand and decided, “Screw my parents’ expectations. I’m gonna do what I think is most suitable for me!”

So, in December, I applied for teacher’s college. And I GOT IN!!

I took my stand the week before the application deadline, so I really had to scramble to get it done in time and I wasn’t feeling very confident about it. It’s such a relief to know that not only do I have something lined up for September, but even if I don’t find a full-time job right away, I can substitute teach and make some steady money.

To celebrate, I’m joining a friend of mine and her friends on a girls’ trip to Cuba!

So, although the week started off on a sour note, it ended positively. And I guess that’s all you can do in these kinds of situations, focus on the positives instead of dwelling on the negatives.

Now, I’ve just got to learn how to stop procrastinating so I can get studying for exams out of the way and start thinking about my upcoming trip…

Actions

Information

2 responses

16 04 2010
shannon (the daily balance)

CONGRATS!

and so exciting about your upcoming trip!

“focus on the positives instead of dwelling on the negatives.”

so true

19 04 2010
Ruby

Thanks Shannon! And thanks for visiting 🙂

Leave a Reply

