Inspirangles – 1M2MF5k

17 04 2010

Ack!! 1M2MF5k!! (aka 1 Month to My First 5k) Although, with the way my training is going, I may soon be using other words for the ‘MF’ part…

Yikes, exactly 30 days until my first race. I can’t believe how quickly time is flying. We’re already half-way through April. How did that happen?! I guess I’ve been too consumed with exams and distracted by my crazy week.

So far, I’ve been doing terribly with my April goals. No progress on the pizza dough as yet. I’ll have to get it done next week because I’ll be in Cuba the last week of April. I only managed to go out running twice last week and not at all this week yet. I don’t think I’ll even be able to keep the 2 blog posts a week goal! Ahh!! 😦

On the bright side, I’ve managed to raise and exceed the minimum donation amount for my 5k race, so I’m racing for free 🙂 And, okay, so I won’t be meeting my goals the exact way I laid them out, but it doesn’t necessarily mean I won’t meet them at all.

I have a week left to make pizza dough. 3 runs a week is 12 runs in total. With 2 down, I have 10 more to go. I could accomplish that in the next 2 weeks. Similarly, 2 blog posts a week is 8, and already I’ve got 3 done.

I think this is one of the lessons I’ve slowly been learning in the last couple of months. Yes, I’m not good at being consistent and definitely have trouble sticking to my goals, but I’ve come to see that when you’ve gotten off track to achieve your goals, you can just shove them aside and think of it as a failure or you can get back on track, re-prioritize and try again.

In the past, I would have chosen the former option and viewed it as a failure, which would have just kept me in a vicious cycle of negativity. And sure, I’m kind of embarrassed that I can’t set goals and meet them the way other people seem to on the blogs I follow, but I guess that’s just something I have to accept as part of my journey. I’m just not at the same level of dedication nor do I have the same amount of motivation as they do right now. Will I ever? I hope so, but only time will tell.

For now, I’ve re-prioritized, broken the goals down into less rigid, more achievable tasks, and will be trying my best to actually achieve them. It’ll be a huge coup if I do manage it, that’s for damn sure. 🙂


Actions

Information

2 responses

17 04 2010
Jess

Hey Ruby! I’m glad you’re just trying that much harder to meet your goals. If you’ve noticed on my weekly weigh-ins, I set the same freaking goals every week until I meet them (unless I really don’t want to do it, like girl push-ups because I moved onto real push-ups) but I’ve been setting the 8:30 mile goal now for WEEKS. It still hasn’t happened but I’ll be damned if it doesn’t happen eventually 🙂 Stick with it. Your goals are there as a marker to run towards. Sometimes you don’t get there, but that’s not the point. It’s not how FAST you get there but that you get there at all. You’re a winner if you get there, no matter how long it takes you!

19 04 2010
Ruby

Thanks, Jess! That’s very true. I think I’m really burnt out right now and having trouble finding the will to push myself. But for the first time in a long time, I truly believe I’ll meet my goals eventually. So that’s progress, right? 🙂

Leave a comment