Exercisangles – 10ks and the achy breakys

21 04 2010

I haven’t been running consistently as I mentioned in a previous post, and in an attempt to achieve my April goal of doing 12 runs, I decided to do a long (for me) 10 km distance Sunday. It was a gorgeous warm, sunny day, and I’m always so inspired to get out there when I see other people running. As I was driving to and from the grocery store, it was almost like a parade of runners, every few kilometers, there was another lone runner or a pair of joggers, etc. So, when I got home, I changed and laced up and headed out before I could change my mind.

For my 5k runs, I’ve mapped out a route in my neighbourhood, but I’ve also discovered that the distance from my house to my sister’s condo is 5k as well. I haven’t seen my sister in awhile, so I headed in her direction. I figured I would stop by for a water break before turning around and going back home.

Trying 10 ks:

I was very surprised at how much my endurance had decreased after a full week off (from pretty much all exercise!). I also probably wasn’t fueled properly with food and water, which might explain why I had a hard time pushing myself. I think during that first 5km stretch, I was able to make myself run only 0.5 km straight before I switched to walking.

It took me awhile, about 40 minutes to get there and I ended up spending an hour there, hydrating and chatting. Finally, since it was getting late, I left and started making my way back home. Maybe because I was hydrated, but I managed to push myself further on the way back home. I did 2 hills and ran 2 1km intervals straight. Yay! 🙂

As for the achy breakys…

Those hills killed me the next day! I was hungry and tired when I came home, so I lazily stretched for only about 10 mins. I paid for it the next day. My legs felt like lead and my glutes…damn those hills!

I complain, but it’s been a long time since I’ve felt this kind of muscle soreness and it actually feels pretty damned good! Like a hard earned badge of honour.  At least this kind of sore. I’m pleasantly achy and able to function normally rather than feeling like I’m-an-old-lady-my-bones-are-gonna-achy-breaky-with-every-step-I-takey. I’d probably be sounding off about never running again if I had the real achy breakys (but don’t tell my heart, my achy breaky heart…;)). Instead, I’m going to try going out again today. Hopefully my muscles cooperate 🙂

What are your strategies for managing the achy breakys?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

