Entertangles – Strut for a Cure 2010

26 07 2010

This post is long overdue, but I thought I’d do a little pictorial review of a charity fashion show I went to back in May.

Strut for a Cure is an annual charity fashion show supporting the Coast-to-Coast Against Cancer foundation, an organization that helps childhood cancer charities. Supermodel Coco Rocha helped start up the Strut for a Cure event and headlines the fashion show.

Coco Rocha being interviewed...yes, I was that close! (the guy in the back in the red and white t-shirt is her hubby)

My friend, Caley convinced me to skip class and seize this rare opportunity to dress up, drink up and eat up while mingling with the glitterati, taking in a fashion show featuring the designs of Todd Lynn and watching Dragonette perform live. For $95, I thought the perks and the cause were totally worth it. And it was!

Unfortunately, we arrived fashionably late:

(As you can see, I wore my sexy silver shoes 🙂 )

Which meant we weren’t able to get into the overcrowded room where the fashion show was taking place. Instead, they projected the show onto a wall.

That gave us the chance to hit the open wine and beer bar and eat some fancy schmancy (and delish) hor d’oeuvres. But we also kept trying to get into the room to see the fashion show and ended up missing the whole thing. The security people were being very strict since the room was over capacity and it was a fire hazard and a liability, yada yada…

However, our persistence paid off.

People started leaving the room after the fashion show since it wasn’t air conditioned and hot as hell in there. We were able to see Dragonette up close and personal!

There was a cool dance performance after Dragonette:

Then I took in some street style:

I love the purple checks! Hot! (shirt from Mexx)

A crazy Beyonce-esque fingerless 'glove' (from an Indian occult shop somewhere in Toronto).

Matching tuxes - adorable! (the guys from Pook toques)

Lovely lace - I love the intricate detailing of lace. I'm really liking the black lace overlay trend.

More intricate details (a Forever 21 necklace. Now that's a classy steal.)

Interesting shoes...can't decide if I love 'em or hate 'em...

Can you tell I'm a little obsessed with edgy footwear?!

After much chatting with random people, drinking, and dancing, we were ready to leave the party in a happy drunken fog with our crazy amazing (cramazing?) SWAG bags.

I had been attempting to get a picture with Coco Rocha all night with no luck. Finally before she left the party early, I snagged this shot. Though, not with her, at least it’s focused (few of my pics that night were 🙂 )…

Although I had my reservations at first, particularly with the uncertainty of what to expect at the event, I’m so glad I went.

It was just an overall fun night on the town, where I got to get dressed up, have an almost-sorta celebrity encounter, drink free wine and snack on fancy appetizers. I’ll definitely be doing it again next year!

Actions

Information

2 responses

28 07 2010
Jess

Whole event looked super cute and is for a good cause! I REALLY LOVE the purple checkered shirt with the black tie and blazer. Super suave. Digging.

And there were some SERIOUS bling! Sheesh 🙂

Looking good though girl! Liking the dress!

3 08 2010
Ruby

Thanks Jess 🙂 I agree, there’s just something about a guy in a checkered shirt…I think suave is the perfect word.

Leave a Reply

