Busy little bumble bee

15 11 2010

Yikes, it’s been awhile! I can’t believe how quickly time is flying by. Crazy, crazy!

As you may recall from an earlier post, I got into teacher’s college in the spring and started the program in September. It’s just been go, go, go since.The hours have been a huge adjustment for a night owl like me.

For the last 6 years, I’ve always tried to schedule my classes to be in the afternoon or evening. When I had classes before noon, I would eventually stop attending them because I just couldn’t wake up for them after going to bed at 4 a.m.

Now, my classes start at 8:30 a.m. and I have no choice but to attend. They do attendance! And it’s hard to be inconspicuously absent when there are only 30 other people in your class…

So that’s how my September and October went, adjusting to the early days and working on assignment after assignment. The important thing is that I’m absolutely loving my program!!

I finally found the career path I was meant to be in. When I started, it was like a light switch went off. Literally. I never really believed anyone who said that until I experienced it for myself. So have hope!

November is when we’re placed in an actual school to practice what we’ve learned and teach real classes for ourselves. I got really lucky and was placed at a school nearby my house and teaching my specialty–marketing. It’s like for the first time in my life things are lining up perfectly 🙂 It’s exhilarating. And exhausting.

Although I’m ecstatic that my school/work life is finally on track, my health is not doing so well.

In the summer I developed some strange foot and ankle pains that flared up during and after running. A trip to a sports doctor diagnosed the foot pain as plantar fasciitis. Unfortunately, he wasn’t able to diagnose the ankle pain except chalk it up to tight muscles.

He told me to take it easy with the running depending on the pain level, so I did, but the ankle pain (a sharp pain that felt like a muscle or ligament in my ankle had twisted suddenly) would flare up mid-stride every time I went out.  I, of course, took the lazy route and stopped running altogether.

In fact, I completely fell off the wagon (again) for the last few months. I haven’t been swimming either. Every once in awhile I’ll do an exercise video. I just got a bunch of Core Fusion dvds and I’m loving them.  But the lack of cardio and the not-so-great eating has meant I’m at an impasse with my weight loss and it’s been more maintenance or weight gain than anything.

I was suddenly struck with some inspiration today, though, which led me back to the blog world. I hope I can take some of that enthusiasm for work and carry it into healthy eating and exercise.

I’ll try to check back in with my progress, and some of the food pics I’ve taken over the last few months, soon!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

