(belated) HELLO 2012!

22 01 2012

I have been avoiding my blog for quite some time, just as I have been avoiding regularly exercising and eating heathily. Life has been in a state of stagnation for the last few months. I finished teacher’s college and took a few months off to relax while job hunting. Unfortunately, I started the job hunt too late and now must wait to re-apply for teaching positions for Fall 2012. 

I don’t mind that too much because I still work part-time and live at home so I don’t have many expenses, but I hate when people ask me if I’m working and I have to tell them I am unemployed!

Luckily, things started turning around when I started volunteer teaching in a school. It was great to get back into a regular schedule and have a real purpose. So now I am keeping very busy volunteering during the day and working at my part-time job on the weekend. I come home exhausted!

After two weeks of readjusting after the holidays, I’m finally getting back into a workout routine with 2 main goals in mind:
1. I’m signing up for the Sporting Life 10K run on Sunday, May 13, 2012
I ran so sparsely in the last few months that I’ve lost any running endurance I had built up in the spring. To train for my 10K, I’m following Hal Higdon’s Novice 10K plan.
2. I’ve got to get bikini ready for upcoming vacations!
I’ve got 2 vacations booked and another tentatively planned.
First up is Negril, Jamaica in February! 🙂 I’ve got 3 weeks to get as comfortable in a bathing suit as I can!
Next is my cousin’s wedding reception in California in April.
Finally, a couple of girlfriends and I are trying to plan a trip to Vegas for my birthday weekend in July. That one might not work out, but if it does, I’m hoping to finally be in a bikini!

In the meantime, I’m hoping to start blogging more frequently to keep track of my workouts and meals.

We’ll have to wait and see if I can finally be determined enough to follow through! 🙂

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

