Inspirangles – One year older, one year wiser…?

3 07 2010

So, yesterday was my 24th birthday! I’m celebrating tonight by having some friends over for a BBQ.

On the menu:

  • Lean beef burgers
  • Soy burgers (President’s Choice brand) – I’ve never had these before, so I’ll do a little product review for any interested Canadians
  • Veggie burgers (Amy’s Kitchen California Burger)LOVE these! One of the best veggie burgers I’ve ever had.
  • My homemade guacamole, store bought salsa + tortilla chips
  • Scallops
  • Veggie skewers with red pepper, red onions, mushrooms, and zucchini
  • Grilled asparagus
  • Salad of spring mix greens with a lemon/honey/garlic dressing
  • Chocolate covered strawberries and pineapple for dessert
  • Courtesy of friends: pasta salad and cupcakes

I’m very excited, but I’ve got a busy day of prepping ahead of me.

With another birthday, comes a new year.

It’s been a rocky year, but I definitely feel I’ve come a long way mentally, emotionally and physically. I’ve fallen off the wagon a bunch of times, but I keep getting back on enthusiastically (which I think is the key word here).

The last couple of months, working out and healthy eating have been sporadic efforts on my part. I’m feeling really inspired to get back into a steady routine.

The start of July brings not only my birthday, but I’ll be starting my summer job working as a camp counselor, which means full-time hours (waking up before 12 pm and potentially going to bed before 12 am–huge change for a night owl like me!), lots of physical activity during the day (no more sitting in front of the computer or reading boring textbooks all day), and MONEY!! 🙂

In the last month, I’ve started writing a bunch of posts, unfortunately they required pictures and I couldn’t find my camera in the mess that was my room. But after an obsessive declutteration, I found it and will subject you to a barrage of posts over the next couple of days. Expect: SHOES!, a celebrity sighting, and lots of food pics.

To all you Americans, Happy 4th of July!

How are you spending your long weekend? What dishes are in your BBQ repertoire?


Actions

Information

4 responses

12 07 2010
Jess

We have the EXACT same birthday?! Like even down to the same year?! That’s just crazy! And awesome! I hope you had a blast 🙂 Happy belated!

Yum yum yum to homemade guacamole and skewers. I hope the BBQ turned out great!

25 07 2010
Ruby

I know it’s nuts! Thanks and here’s to a fantastic 24th year! 🙂

20 07 2010
Helena

Happy Belated Birthday!

Show the shoes! I need to get some more unique pairs (although my bf would not agree that I need more shoes…).

25 07 2010
Ruby

Thanks Helena! Shoes are finally on the way. Boys just don’t understand, you can never have enough!

Leave a comment